Recovery Step 9 – Acceptance

Once I was able to own my actions and their impact on my loved ones, I was able to accept myself and the situation I was in. I had to stop living in denial that things were the way they were supposed to be and that tomorow would magically be better. I was responsible for making a change and making amends. I had to accept the fact that I drove my husband away into someone else’s arms; that I destroyed our marriage; that I wasn’t able to love; that I broke his spirit; that I had hurt many; and that I had a mental illness. This acceptance was what led me to the path of empowerment. Accepting and deciding to make a change gave me the power to take control back from my illness and control back from my marriage. I was ready to take action and run toward improvement, the future, my family, and my husband’s ams. Ultimately this would allow me to forgive him…something that, no matter how much I took blame for most of our marital issues, I didn’t think I’d ever be able to do.

~ by imasurvivor2013 on May 1, 2013.

2 Responses to “Recovery Step 9 – Acceptance”

  1. forgiveness is so powerful! 🙂

  2. Beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

 
